Head coach Pete Russell has named his 25-man squad that will represent Great Britain at next month’s World Championship in Slovakia.

There are first World Championship call-ups for Tim Billingsley, Ben Lake and Joey Lewis, while 21 of the squad that won promotion from Division I Group A in Hungary last year are included.

Evan Mosey returns after missing last year’s tournament because of injury. In addition, Josh Batch will remain with the squad next week as injury cover.

The squad will report back for training camp in Coventry on Tuesday and start preparations for back to back matches against KHL side Torpedo in Nottingham and Sheffield at the weekend.

GB will play in their first top-flight World Championship since 1994 when they face Germany, Canada, Denmark, USA, Finland, Slovakia and France from 11th to 20th May in Group A in Kosice.

Russell said: “I know the guys who missed out are completely disappointed and so would I be. The whole group at the camp have given everything to each other every day and created healthy competition.

“This effort and attitude has only made our compete group stronger. They may not be in the 25 but they are a part of our group.

“A couple of the guys were unfortunate to be hurt and not had a real opportunity to stake a claim but they will be back next year though.

“As a coaching group we had some big decisions to make. For me, we left no stone unturned.

“The 25 guys who we have selected are the guys we believe will take us forward to the next phase of the process.”

GB face Torpedo at the Motorpoint Arena Nottingham on Saturday 27th April and at the Fly DSA Arena Sheffield on Sunday 28th April.

Ben Bowns – Cardiff Devils
Thomas Murdy – Cardiff Devils
Jackson Whistle – Sheffield Steelers

Tim Billingsley – Nottingham Panthers
Dallas Ehrhardt – Manchester Storm
Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers
Evan Mosey – Cardiff Devils
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers
David Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
Paul Swindlehurst – Belfast Giants

Ollie Betteridge – Nottingham Panthers
Ben Davies – Guildford Flames
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
Luke Ferrara – Coventry Blaze
Mike Hammond – Manchester Storm
Liam Kirk – Peterborough Petes
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Ben Lake – Coventry Blaze
Joey Lewis – ESV Kaufbeuren
Matthew Myers – Cardiff Devils
Brett Perlini – Nottingham Panthers
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Colin Shields – Belfast Giants

Photo credit: Scott Wiggins.