Defenceman Paul Swindlehurst has been named in the Great Britain team for the World Championship next month.

The 27-year-old, who has recovered from injury and played in both of Coventry Blaze’s Elite Series playoff games this week, completes GB’s 28-man roster for the tournament in Riga.

Swindlehurst has been capped 30 times for his country since making his debut in Lithuania in 2014.

Great Britain Head Coach, Pete Russell, said: “It is great news that Paul will be taking his place on the roster for the World Championship.

“He is now an experienced GB player and our defence will certainly be stronger with him in our squad.

“Preparations are now well under way for the pre-tournament camp in Coventry and I know the players are all excited about getting together.”

GB are in Group A – based in the Olympic Sports Centre – where they will come up against Russia, Slovakia, Denmark, Belarus, Sweden, Czech Republic and Switzerland between 22nd May and 1st June.

Group B consists of hosts Latvia, as well as Canada, Finland, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, Norway and the USA. Matches will be held at Arena Riga.

GB World Championship roster
(Players listed by their Elite Series/NIHL Cup club or current club if playing in Europe) 

Ben Bowns – Nottingham Panthers
Jordan Hedley – Coventry Blaze
Jackson Whistle – Nottingham Panthers

David Clements – Coventry Blaze
Dallas Ehrhardt – Manchester Storm
Mark Garside – Nottingham Panthers
Sam Jones – Sheffield Steelers
Evan Mosey – EHC Freiburg
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steeldogs
David Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Paul Swindlehurst – Coventry Blaze
Josh Tetlow – Nottingham Panthers

Ollie Betteridge – Nottingham Panthers
Brendan Connolly – Sheffield Steelers
Ben Davies – Manchester Storm
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Sam Duggan – Coventry Blaze
Luke Ferrara – Coventry Blaze
Mike Hammond – Coventry Blaze
Lewis Hook – Nottingham Panthers
Liam Kirk – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Ben Lake – Manchester Storm
Ciaran Long – Manchester Storm
Matthew Myers – Sheffield Steelers
Brett Perlini – Nottingham Panthers
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Ross Venus – Coventry Blaze