Defenceman Mark Richardson has replaced Evan Mosey in the Great Britain squad for the World Championship in Latvia later this month.

Richardson has won 87 caps for his country since making his debut back in 2005, with the 34-year-old scoring six goals and contributing 17 assists for 23 points.

GB are based in the Group A venue of the Olympic Sports Centre for the tournament, where they will come up against Russia, Slovakia, Denmark, Belarus, Sweden, Czech Republic and Switzerland between 22nd May and 1st June.

Group B consists of hosts Latvia, as well as Canada, Finland, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, Norway and the USA. Matches will be held at Arena Riga.

Head coach, Pete Russell, said: “It’s was always the aim that either Evan or Mark would go if available.

“Evan is playing right now for me here in Germany but he doesn’t feel 100% right after a lower body injury two months ago. I feel it shows great honesty to admit this and give his spot up.

“Richie was also playing in Germany but returned home three weeks ago to his family. At that time he could not commit 100% because of being away from his family all season, which I fully supported and understand.

“But now, Richie can join up with the group later into the camp which is fantastic as he is a great leader and player.”

GB World Championship roster
(Players listed by their Elite Series/NIHL Cup club or previous club if playing in Europe)
Ben Bowns – Nottingham Panthers
Jordan Hedley – Coventry Blaze
Jackson Whistle – Nottingham Panthers

David Clements – Coventry Blaze
Dallas Ehrhardt – Manchester Storm
Mark Garside – Nottingham Panthers
Sam Jones – Sheffield Steelers
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steeldogs
David Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Mark Richardson – EC Bad Nauheim
Paul Swindlehurst – Coventry Blaze
Josh Tetlow – Nottingham Panthers

Ollie Betteridge – Nottingham Panthers
Brendan Connolly – Sheffield Steelers
Ben Davies – Manchester Storm
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Sam Duggan – Coventry Blaze
Luke Ferrara – Coventry Blaze
Mike Hammond – Coventry Blaze
Lewis Hook – Nottingham Panthers
Liam Kirk – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Ben Lake – Manchester Storm
Ciaran Long – Manchester Storm
Matthew Myers – Sheffield Steelers
Brett Perlini – Nottingham Panthers
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Ross Venus – Coventry Blaze