The Ice Hockey UK board of directors met on Monday 19th August to consider the outcome of the EIHA EGM and specifically discussed how to move forward.

The IHUK board directors present were…

Rich Grieveson – independent chair
Ken Taggart – EIHA
Charles Dacres – EIHA
Paul Hayes – EIHA
David Hand – SIHA
Alex Cram – SIHA
John Colley – independent director
Geoff Hemmerman – independent director
Eric Morton – independent director
Martin Gill – independent director

At the EIHA EGM, resolutions one, two and three received just over 70% of the votes cast and whilst this fell short of the required level of 75% (under company law for any special resolution) to be approved, it nevertheless set a clear message that EIHA members supported the proposal and direction of travel to create a new single national governing body for governing the sport across the UK.

Indeed, whilst the first three resolutions received 70% support, all other resolutions received over 75% support, giving a clear mandate for this proposal to continue to be developed and brought back to the EIHA members following their feedback.

This significant support is a clear indication that, amongst EIHA members, there remains a strong desire for change within the membership and the continued desire for a new, fit for purpose, organisation to govern our sport.

All directors at the meeting remain totally committed to delivering on the memberships’ desire to create a new unified organisation; an organisation with appropriate operating protocols, representation and engaged members at its core.

The directors did recognise however that the membership were not persuaded by some elements of the proposals that were presented.

Over the next three months the directors will reflect on the comments received and re-work these elements so a proposal can be re-presented for voting by the membership.