Great Britain Women have named their squad for next month’s IIHF World Championship (Division 2A) in Gangneung.

GB will come up against hosts Korea, as well as Australia, DPR Korea, Netherlands and Slovenia, in the six-team tournament from Sunday 2nd to Saturday 8th April 2017.

The tournament is being held in conjunction with the Men’s Under-18 World Championship (Division 2A) and the two competitions are being used as test events for the 2018 Winter Olympics at the same venue.

Sixteen of the squad who represented GB at last year’s Olympic qualifiers in Kazakhstan are included, while there are GB full squad debuts for Michelle Franklin, Beth Barwell, Ali Emery, Verity Lewis and Megan Rathbone.

Head coach, Cheryl Smith, said: “We feel we have chosen a strong squad and one which can be competitive in Korea.

“We were disappointed with our showing in the Olympic qualifiers in Kazakhstan, so I know the girls will feel they have something to prove.

“We have won medals in each of the last three years and that shows we are competitive.

“We know we have to be more consistent if we are to achieve the dream of promotion and the gold medal.

“The squad is a good mix of experienced players and young talent and this will be a fantastic experience for them.”

Michelle Franklin – Solihull Vixens
Nicole Jackson – Linköping HC (Sweden)

Beth Barwell – Kingston Diamonds
Shannon Douglas – Ontario Hockey Academy (Canada)
Ali Emery – Guildford Lightning
Georgina Farman – Linköping HC (Sweden)
Beth Hill – Guildford Lightning
Sarah Hutchinson – Kingston Diamonds
Verity Lewis – Ontario Hockey Academy (Canada)
Lauren Summers – Bracknell Queen Bees

Louise Adams – Guildford Lightning
Saffron Allen – Solihull Vixens
CJ Ashton – Kingston Diamonds
Rachel Cartwright – Bracknell Queen Bees
Leanne Ganney – Bracknell Queen Bees
Katie Henry – Solihull Vixens
Kim Lane – SC Reinach Damen (Switzerland)
Katie Marsden – Ontario Hockey Academy (Canada)
Chrissie Newman – Bracknell Queen Bees
Megan Rathbone – Nottingham Vipers
Angela Taylor – ZSC Lions Frauen (Switzerland)
Casey Traill – Ontario Hockey Academy (Canada)

Travelling reserve
Lucy Gruber – Guildford Lightning