Great Britain will travel to Istanbul for the Under-18 Women’s World Championship Division II from 25th June to 5th July.

The original tournament – due to take place in January – was postponed last December because of the increasing covid cases at the time.

The competition will be made up of 10 teams split into two groups of five, with matches taking place on the two ice sheets at the Zeytinburnu Ice Rink.

The two groups are as follows…

  • Group A: Great Britain (1), Spain (4), Kazakhstan (5), New Zealand (8), Latvia (9).
  • Group B: Netherlands (2), Australia (3), Turkey (6), Mexico (7), Iceland (10).

The tournament will begin with preliminary-round games followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals, medal and placement games, with the full schedule to be announced in due course.

Click here for more details on the IIHF website.

The under-18 women’s last World Championship was the 2020 Division I Group B tournament in Katowice, with the 2021 tournament scheduled for Dumfries cancelled because of the pandemic.

Their last competitive action was in November when they finished in second place in the Four Nations in Iceland.